Idraluna Archives

Reading the whole damn AD&D 1e DMG

This is yet another 'guy who started with new D&D editions discovers the OSR and decides to read the entire AD&D DMG' post. I won't pretend to have anything particularly novel to say, but it fascinated me to a degree that for my own sake I feel compelled to record my reactions.[^1]

Anyways, without further ado, here's what stood out:

Introduction

PHB Cut Content

The DMG doesn't do a great job signposting or emphasizing chapter transitions, so the structure can be pretty confusing. Case-in-point, the book starts with a mess of highly specific rules that didn't make it into the Player's Handbook, like aging and disease.

The Campaign

I'm still not totally clear on where the PHB cut content actually ends, but this section header on page 86 seems like a good place.

Items & Stuff

A large chunk of the book is devoted to magic items, treasure, crafting, monsters, etc.

Other Reflections

[^1] As a disclaimer: I do not remotely endorse any of the offensive opinions Gygax espoused, and do not wish to idealize him. He was a flawed person who happened to make something interesting.

#game-design #reviews