Idraluna Archives

Ability Scores

I’ve been working on a homebrewed D&D-esque hack intended for running classic & OSR adventure modules in my preferred style. I’m going to be posting some design notes where I force myself to clarify my thoughts, starting with ability scores. ___

Ability scores in the past

AFAIK all versions of D&D1 use the classic six scores to represent a character’s innate strengths and weaknesses:

Most OSR retroclones keep the original six, but a few ‘nu-SR’ offerings use a reduced list. Into The Odd uses strength, dexterity, and willpower, as does its close descendent Cairn. Interestingly, Electric Bastionland (by the author of Into The Odd) swaps out willpower for charisma on the grounds that charisma is easier to translate into a mental picture or role-playing cue. MÖRK BORG has agility, presence, strength, and toughness.2

The DIY & Dragons blog provides a helpful meta-framework for all this by arguing that there are actually eight implicit abilities derived from three dichotomies: physical vs. mental, force vs. grace, and attack vs. defense. The OG six result from merging physical grace attack and defense into dexterity and mental force attack and mental grace attack into Charisma. The ITO reduction amounts to merging all the mental ones together, condensing the physical to force attack/defense and grace attack/defense. I think that the force vs. grace dichotomy is iffy in the mental realm, but I like the schema overall.

One of my goals for my homebrew is to land in ‘mid-crunch’ territory with enough material to support longer campaigns but as much streamlining as possible. I want to use ability scores, and I want them to play nicely with other systems like skills, combat, and encumbrance.

With no desire to rehash 40+ years of nerd debates about abilities, here are the salient points on my mind as I work on my system:

My approach

First, my goals:

Second, I have already settled on using 3d6 to generate abilities with the same modifier spread as Worlds Without Number, to be used in conjunction with WWN-style 2d6 skill rolls and d20 attack rolls, and GLOG-style roll-under saves. So the numbers and mechanics are not up for adjustment - just the abilities themselves.

Physical abilities

I decided to combine strength and constitution into a single score (‘Physique’) due to the collinearity discussed above. The high-con low-strength edge case is easy to imagine (ultra-skinny marathon runner), but the high-strength low-con side is trickier. It’s true that there are strong people who are physically unhealthy, but I'd argue they aren't really fragile in the way that low CON scores usually represent.5

In my ~lived experience~ lifting weights as a hobby, efforts to improve my STR have all benefitted what I imagine to be my CON-derived attributes. This also simplifies ambiguities around things like carry capacity as mentioned above.

I kept dexterity as-is but renamed it to ‘Grace’. There’s now a nice symmetry where Physique and Grace both have an offensive (melee vs. ranged) and a defensive (HP vs AC) use.

Thus:

Physique (PHY): governs melee attacks and damage, hit points, feats of strength and endurance

Grace (GRA): governs ranged attacks, armor class, reflex saves, feats of agility and dexterity

Mental abilities

Of the three classic mental abilities, I regard wisdom as the most ripe for the chopping block:

So WIS is out. But intelligence and charisma won’t escape untouched - I decided to name them after two of the modes of persuasion in Aristotle’s Rhetoric for a bit of arcane flourish.[^8] Intelligence thus becomes Logos, specifically denoting a character’s mastery of their language-world and social knowledge-systems (i.e. lore, magic, languages, and etiquette) rather than anything resembling wit, common sense, or even logic. Charisma becomes Ethos and is more about having an authoritative performance of the self rather than likability, glibness, or charm.

Thus:

Logos (LOG): governs magical spells to manipulate the elements and play with time and space, mastery of language, capacity to memorize lore and past education, and adeptness at detail-oriented tasks like surgery and lockpicking. NOT a replacement for a player’s common sense or logic.

Ethos (ETH): governs magical spells to create illusions, dominate others, and summon entities, body language, confidence, and interpersonal acuity, ego. May be used to bias an NPC’s attitude but NOT a replacement for a player’s use of argument.

Final notes

Returning to the DIY & Dragons post, my four abilities essentially keep the physical/mental and force/grace dichotomies and collapse attack and defense together. Using four abilities sits nicely in my ‘crunch goldilocks zone’ and should hopefully make characters slightly more legible to newbies (not withstanding the ridiculous names). Hopefully, the orthogonality of the abilities will cut down on ambiguous situations where the appropriate modifier is unclear.

Lastly, as a fan of using tarot cards as writing/GMing aids, there’s a convenient mapping of PHY → Pentacles, GRA → Cups, LOG → Swords, and ETH → Wands. More on this later, perhaps.


  1. From DIY & Dragons: “It feels worth pointing out that in the original version of D&D, Strength, Intelligence, and Wisdom didn't represent what they do now. They only things they modified were the XP you received from playing certain classes, which means that they were more like measures of Fighting-Man-ness, Magic-User-ness, and Cleric-ness, respectively, than they were like the abilities familiar to us using those same names today. And that means, when you take those three away, that in playing OD&D, you're left with only 3 real ability scores, Dexterity, Constitution, and Charisma, which is just what you get in I2TO and Numenera.”

  2. I haven’t played MÖRK BORG so I don’t want to knock it too hard, but I really don’t like this split. Agility/Presence and Strength/Toughness seem like they’d be stepping on each others’ toes a lot.

  3. Every time a non-obvious question like this comes up at the table, the rulebook has to come out or the GM has to process the ambiguity and make an on-the-fly ruling. Either is taxing. I have a loose theory of ‘tight abilities, loose skills’ that I hope to expand on later.

  4. I suspect this is why they made it into Into The Odd and its descendants but I can’t say for sure.

  5. If CON was just a measure of cardiovascular endurance it might work, but constitution in D&D is usually used to derive things that have little to do with cardio. The ‘fat powerlifter’ stereotype would, I think, still be modeled in D&D as having high CON.

#archons-and-armigers #game-design